top of page

Principal Investigator


Erin Mayfield, Ph.D.

Hodgson Family Assistant Professor of Engineering | Office: Irving 352 | @ErinNMayfield

Dr. Erin Mayfield is the Hodgson Family Assistant Professor at Dartmouth College in the Thayer School of Engineering. Her research is in the areas of sustainable systems engineering and public policy. Dr. Mayfield focuses on three interacting research themes - multiobjective modeling, intergenerational & social equity, and climate mitigation & adaptation planning. The aim of her research is to develop computational decision support tools to address real-world problems and facilitate multi-stakeholder decision-making processes. Mayfield has participated in several large-scale collaborations on infrastructure transitions, including the Net-Zero America Project and the REPEAT Project, and currently serves as a co-author of the Fifth National Climate Assessment. Her research is regularly covered in national and local media such as the New York Times, The Atlantic, and National Public Radio. Mayfield has received several awards for her research such as the Rob Socolow Best Paper Award, American Chemical Society Editor's Choice Award, and the Herbert L. Toor Doctoral Research Award. Prior to academia, Mayfield was a practitioner working with and in vulnerable communities on hazardous waste remediation, environmental litigation, and infrastructure planning. She has also held positions at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Congress, Princeton University, and Environmental Law Institute. She received her doctoral degree in engineering and public policy from Carnegie Mellon University, masters in environmental engineering from Johns Hopkins University, and bachelors in environmental science from Rutgers University.

Postdoctoral Scholars


Maarten Brinkerink, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar | Office: Irving 252 | Website

Dr. Brinkerink is a native of the Netherlands, and his expertise is in energy systems modelling. With a PhD in Energy Engineering from University College Cork, Maarten’s current research focuses on the application of computational models to assess different decarbonization pathways for the global energy system.


Yohan Min, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar | Office: Irving 252 | Website

Dr. Min's research focuses on energy justice associated with vulnerable communities and energy infrastructures. In particular, he is examining spatio-temporal adoption patterns of distributed energy resources such as rooftop solar and electric vehicles to identify spatial and recognition justice and spillover effects of technology adoption. Furthermore, he is studying adoption strategies for vulnerable communities to increase clean energy access through data analysis and modeling on a statistical basis. The purpose of his research is to promote social equity in the energy transition.

Doctoral Students


Michael May

First-Year Doctoral Student | NSF GRFP | Office: Irving 251

Mike May's primary research interests include sustainable energy transitions, energy economics, local decision-making using spatially downscaled models, and representation of non-economic factors (i.e. geopolitics, adoption inertia, ethics, etc.) within energy systems models. His current thesis research focuses on developing high spatial resolution models of thermal power capacity and transmission siting decisions to meet net-zero emissions by 2050.


Robin (Xinyue) Zou

First-Year Doctoral Student | Office: Irving 251

Robin (Xinyue) Zou's research interests lie in the area of energy system modeling and focus on finding both applicable and sustainable solutions to climate change. Prior to joining the lab, Robin earned her B.S from Smith College in 2022, where she studied Engineering and Mathematics.

Masters Students

Gordon Sherman

Undergraduate Students

Anna Block

Dartmouth '26 | WISP Scholar

PJ Griffiths

Engineering '26 | FYREE Scholar, UGAR Scholar

Daysia Charles

Engineering '25 | Doris Duke Conservation Scholar, UGAR Scholar


Avery Moorhead

Engineering '25 | Luce Scholar, Presidential Scholar


John DeForest

Mathematical Data Science '25 | UGAR Scholar

Mia Siebenmorgen Cresswell

Karson Smith

Engineering '25 | WISP Scholar, UGAR Scholar


Graduate Students: Jacob Jaskwhich (MEng/BE ’23 and AB '22), Filip Nowicki (MEM ’23), Jhujhar Sarna (MEng ’23, FYREE Scholar)

Undergraduate Students: Keiran Ahern (Dartmouth ’21, Irving Institute Grantee), Allister Azagidi (Dartmouth ’22 , Irving Institute Grantee), Rahul Gupta (Dartmouth ’26, FYREE Scholar), Anoush Khan (Dartmouth ’22, Irving Institute Grantee), Alan Ngouenet (Dartmouth ’25, UGAR Scholar), Julian Perez-Doval (Dartmouth ’23, Senior Thesis), Nate Roe (Dartmouth ’23, UGAR Scholar, Senior Thesis), Claire Wayner (Princeton ’22), Albert Zhang (Dartmouth ’25, FYREE Scholar)

Feline Research Assistants


Alma Mayfield


Raindrop Mayfield

bottom of page